MazdaChat

MazdaChat (http://www.mazdachat.net/vb/index.php)
-   Off topic (http://www.mazdachat.net/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   To PhD or not to PhD, that is the question... (http://www.mazdachat.net/vb/showthread.php?t=104)

hobie237 24th April 2008 09:26

To PhD or not to PhD, that is the question...

What say you, should I stick around another 3 years after I get done my masters (one year from now)? Or just head out into the world?

Bob Hill 24th April 2008 09:39

Well I have a PhD so obviously I am all for education. If though, you can swing working fulltime and going to school I would suggest doing it that way. It is tough but it can be done - BTDT.

When I looking to hire new employees, if someone has a PhD but no real work experience I won't hire them because they are unproven in the work force. Just something to think about.

swivel 24th April 2008 09:47

Well that depends on what your specific goals are.

Personally, after finishing my bachelors I was sick of academia and how insulated it is from anything resembling the real world. Of course I'm now working as a college staff member -- which just proves to reinforce my previous opinion.

Do you view academics as a means to end, or an end in itself?
If you enjoy the pursuit of knowledge and whatnot, then staying for your doctorate makes sense.
If you're using education as a way to gain a better position in the market place, then you should make the economic calculation of: Is there more of an opportunity cost to staying in school vs. getting out there?

Those are just some general guidelines and the way I think about it. I found that what helps me is having a 5 year plan. I know that might sounds dumb, but it works for me. Figure out where you want to be/what you want to be doing in the next 1,2,&5 years and do what is necessary to make that happen. I have found that without goals or direction, I tend to get nowhere with anything and end up with a deficit of motivation.

hobie237 24th April 2008 09:48